The North Dakota Long Term Care Association (NDLTCA) is honored to be able to provide scholarships to assist qualified students who wish to further their education and practice in the long term care profession. This program is offered in memory of Allan B. Engen. Mr. Engen was Executive Director of North Dakota Long Term Care Association from 1979 to 1989. All long term care facility employees interested in becoming a nurse, (LPN or RN) are eligible to apply. This year we are excited to announce one lucky winner will recieve a $5,000 scholarship with numerous others receiving a $1,000 scholarship. The funds for nurse scholarships are primarily raised through the annual “Fun Run”, held in conjunctions with the NDLTCA Annual Convention. The “Fun Run” is an annual walk/run where individuals of all ages raise dollars and make donations in support of nurse scholarships. The vast majority of all funds raised go directly to nursing scholarships.



  • Currently employed in a NDLTCA member facility and recommended by that facility.
  • Proof of acceptance into a nursing education program approved by the ND Board of Nursing.
  • Two letters of recommendation required. One must be completed by the Director of Nursing or Administrator of the referring facility.
    (All recommendations must be submitted on the standard recommendation form utilized or the applicant will be disqualified.)
  • Application form must be typed.
  • Completed application and supporting documentation must be received in one package by the NDLTCA office no later than 1:00 p.m. CST on August 31, 2022.
    (Recommendations mailed separately from applications will not be accepted).

Questions or for more information contact Carol at 701-354-9777.


2022 Scholarship Winners:

Michelle Amay, GSS – Augusta Place
Renas Amedy, Eventide Fargo
Bailee Anderson, Dakota Alpha
Ibrahim Bangura, Eventide West Fargo
Sarah Bockheim, Wedgewood Manor
Kaitlyn Campbell, Edgewood Vista
Darian Charvat, Maple View Memory Care
Susan Christiansen, Northwood Deaconess Health Center
Kyle Dembek, Benedictine Bismarck
Jessica Duppong, Marian Manor HealthCare Center
Kelsey Fitzner, Sanford Health Hillsboro Care Center
Taiwah Gensee, St. Catherine South
Amber Haggerty, Heart of America Medical Center
Katie Heid, Baptist Health and Rehab
Ashlee Leingang, Baptist Health and Rehab
Carly Lippert, Aneta Parkview Health Center
Jaslyn Magstadt, Edgewood Vista Mandan
Nicole Martens, Senior Suites – Sakakawea Medical CTR
Tahis Mboli, GSS – Sunset
Taylor Nelson, Benedictine Dickinson
Catherine Nerison, Nelson County Health Systems Care Ctr
Jacklyn Pazdernik, Elm Crest Manor
Cheyenne Rode, Heart of America Medical Center
Jacob Sherva, Luther Memorial Home
Jiyoung Shin, Eventide Fargo
Kaitlin Silbernagel, Benedictine Dickinson
Alexa Swenby, Edgewood Village
McKenna Tollerud, Maddock Memorial Home
Kylie Vining, Eventide West Fargo


2022 Sponsor Members of the Fun Run

Bill Barth
Coaches Choice
Sanford Health
University of Mary
Annunciation Monastery
Hatton Prairie Village
Shelly and Wade Peterson
Tom and Bev Herman
Carol and Brendan Ternes