National Quality Awards

Invest in your organization’s future today.


The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program is a rigorous three-level process that evaluates an organization’s capabilities against nationally recognized standards for excellence. The three-level program is the most comprehensive and cost-effective performance assessment available to long-term and post-acute care providers. Each progressive award levels— Bronze – Commitment to Quality, Silver – Achievement in Quality, and Gold – Excellence in Quality, requires a more detailed demonstration of superior performance. Providers are nationally recognized for achieving each award level and eventually join the ranks of the best in long-term care.


What is the value of the Program?


An outside perspective. Trained experts spend over 100 hours reviewing each application.


Learning from the feedback. Each applicant receives an objective written assessment of its strengths and opportunities for improvement based on an examination of the award application against the nationally recognized Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence.


Team building. Pursuing a common goal motivates staff, resulting in energized improvement efforts.


Becoming stronger and more resilient. Anticipate, prepare for, and recover from disasters, emergencies, and other disruptions by working through the rigorous application process, resulting in an enhanced workforce, customer engagement, organizational productivity, and community well-being during times of change.


A focus on results. Organizations determine the most critical areas to measure, create value for key stakeholders, and improve performance in customer engagement, process performance, and health care outcomes. AHCA/NCAL’s Fast Facts resource assists with determining the best result process for long term care centers.


Recognition and pride. External acknowledgment of high-performing centers is the perfect information to share with your hospitals, stakeholders, and referral providers.

Gold Awards

Past ND Gold Award Winners

Year Facility City
2004 Benedictine Living Community-Dickinson Dickinson

Silver Awards

Active ND Silver Award Winners

Year Facility City
2020 Tufte Manor Grand Forks
2020 Valley Senior Living on Columbia Grand Forks
2019 Woodside Village Grand Forks

Bronze Awards

Active ND Bronze Award Winners

Year Facility City
2021 Mountrail Bethel Home Stanley
2020 Trinity Homes Minot
2019 Bethany on University Skilled Care Fargo
2019 Bethany Retirement Living on 42nd Fargo
2019 Elm Crest Manor New Salem
2019 Good Samaritan Society – Augusta Place Bismarck
2019 Good Samaritan Society – Mott Mott
2019 Good Samaritan Society – Sunset Drive Mandan
2018 Wheatland Terrace Grand Forks